Roman Provincias > Provincia Crete et Cyrenaica

Provincia Crete et Cyrenaica

Roman History - Pax Romana Decoration


The province of Crete and Cyrenaica (Provincia Creta et Cyrenaica) was a major province of the Roman Empire that was established in 20 BC. The province was composed of the island of the Crete and the polity of Cyrenaica. Prior to the establishment of this province in 71 BC the Roman commander Marcus Antonius Creticus attacked Crete but was ultimately unsuccessful.

Following this Quintus Caecilius Metellus was sent with three Roman legions and after three years managed to capture the island in 69 BC. The Pre-Roman city of Gortyn was established as the new provincial capital. For this victory Quintus Caecilius Metellus earned the agnomen "Creticus". Presently there is not much evidence of massive structural damage due to the Roman invasion. Only a single palatial house complex appears to have been razed according to archaeologists.

Kitos War

See Kitos War

During the Kitos War between AD 115 and AD 117 was very destructive for this province and during this time it is believed that 220,000 Cyrenean Greeks were slaughtered.


See Crete


See Cyrenaica

Roman Provincias

Roman Provincias List


Primary Sources

History Archive: Strabo, Geographica Book X Chapter IV

Secondary Sources

History of Humanity - History Archive Logo
History of Humanity - History Mysteries Logo
History of Humanity - Ancient Mesopotamia Logo
History of Humanity - Egypt History Logo
History of Humanity - Persian Empire Logo
History of Humanity - Greek History Logo
History of Humanity - Alexander the Great Logo
History of Humanity - Roman History Logo
History of Humanity - Punic Wars Logo
History of Humanity - Golden Age of Piracy Logo
History of Humanity - Revolutionary War Logo
History of Humanity - Mafia History Logo